[Literature] Bookstore1 Buzzes with New Poetry

SRQ Daily
May 11, 2012

Georgia Court titled last Tuesday’s poetry reading at Bookstore1Sarasota as “Poetry x3,” she said, because “when you start multiplying things, it just gets better and better and better.” As a journalist, I try to avoid those generalizing statements, but I think when it comes to literature events at her bookstore, Court might be on to something. … Alexis Orgera’s works from her latest collection, How Like Foreign Objects, rolled out of her with a keenness and urgency that riveted me to my chair and kept me utterly present in the moment. Shira Dentz’s jewel-toned poems moved like a breeze, the hues and textures of the language settling like a mist in front of my brain and transporting me somewhere other than where I sat. [Orgera is a New College of Florida alumna and Dentz is a writer-in-residence at New College.]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

